“Th1rt3en” Megadeth Review

There was nothing more that I want than a Megadeth album that was as creative, inspiring, and memorable as United Abominations and fortunately we only had to wait 2 years for something that anticipated. Now on their 13th album, cleverly called “Th1rt3en” (similar to seven as Se7en) was a gigantic celebration for Megadeth in reaching Dave Mustaine’s favorite number. “Th1rt3en” spared no expense by focusing on fine songwriting. Opening with “Sudden Death,” after the long intro the guitar riffs started sounding like machine guns and Dave sings about fighting others to the death. It was a great opener, but the following track blew my mind with the epic, “Public Enemy No. 1.” I bet Megadeth fans who followed the band and listened to them when breaking the law needs to start listening to this because it was just sick. I love the lyrics where Dave loves the pleasure of breaking every law that has made and listening to the finest chorus the band has made “I’m invincible. You might say despicable. Punishment’s reciprocal. Public enemy number one! I’m unbeatable. My mind’s untreatable. Crimes unrepeatable. Public enemy number one.” just makes me want to listen to the song again and again. This was sheer brilliance and very well paced. Then finally the pace picks up with the following “Whose Life (Is It Anyway)” that has the similar feeling to “We’re Not Gonna Take It,” where Dave is basically talking back at his parents. It’s childish, but I bet you feel the same when anyone thinks of you that way. And Megadeth is without a political song and “We The People” is another one in hand. It’s another song where Dave sings about the ironies of being free and it’s nothing we’ve haven’t heard of before, but still is tolerable unlike the previous album where all the songs didn’t have melodies to help us identify the song. Now “Guns, Drugs, & Money” is where it’s at. It’s almost like a song made for the mob and was almost a clean follow-up from “Public Enemy No. 1.” Dave was not afraid to depict the harsh realities of “Guns, Drugs, & Money,” but what metal band is afraid to even sing about sick things? Next, we have “Never Dead” that was started out quietly and silent, but then blows off to a speed metal. The lyrics I admit was lazy, but I did like the up-and-down riffs that kinda tickles my ears. However, the next track “New World Order” was just plain badass. The lyrics were fine with rebelling against the higher power and the instruments playing kinda made a nice feel of chaos and destruction. Afterwards, we have another speed metal song “Fast Lane.” The music quality is much better than “Never Dead” was Megadeth’s best driving metal song since “High Speed Dirt” because the lyrics encourages listeners to move fast as possible.

But now I’m at the biggest part of the album, the one song I grew so emotionally to “United Abominations” for not including the best track in the hard-copy, only exclusively on pre-order. That track is “Black Swan,” and you should know that I love that track to no end and FINALLY “Black Swan,” is featured in a hard-copy with no separated edition, but unfortunately this isn’t the same “Black Swan” from UA the has that soulful and energetic feel in it, but instead “Th1rt3en’s” version just went over-the-top with a secondary guitar running back and forth during the magical notes from the original. Make the comparisons now and if you say “Th1rt3en’s” version was better, I’ll give you another try because “Black Swan” on the UA was more hypnotic and this one was trying way too hard to amuse its listeners. Well, I’m not as mad as I should be, maybe because I have the gratitude for Megadeth giving us something different and the newer sound didn’t sound anywhere close to be awful, but not everybody knows of the UA version of “Black Swan” and I think it’s better to just keep that version unchanged. It’s both a disappointment that Megadeth done this, but at the same time, it’s nice of them bringing back the single that not everyone got a chance to hear. Next we got “Wrecker” that went awol and hard rocking. It’s similar to High Speed Dirt and focuses on hitting and running. But the following song “Millennium of the Blind,” was an insightful song that shows Dave Mustaine’s frustration on giving a message but being ignored. It looks like the newer generation in the wrong direction and Dave is their last chance. It’s preachy, but I’m glad for the different pace. “Deadly Nightshade,” the next track, is not really one of their best songs, but I think it should be remembered as one of Megadeth’s coolest. This is one of the instances where the bass finally shines and creates a groovy feel to it. I kept, thinking of Vic Rattlehead’s shades that cover his eyes and wonder if they’re singing about that. And finally our last track of “Th1rt3en” is well… “13,” and I like the fact that it’s a coming of paced type of album where it starts out slow but then changes the song completely towards the end.

I admit that there are some ups and downs with “Th1rt3en” (especially “Black Swan”) but I just admire the fact that it was so much improved over “Endgame” by “Th1rt3en” memorable tunes and great appeal listening to it. Not much I can say because it’s a new album, so if you’re a fan of the band and have not yet checked “Th1rt3en”, I suggest to do so because it really was a good album

Track Highlights

  • Public Enemy No. 1
  • Sudden Death
  • Black Swan (Inferior to the United Abominations version!)

The Top Lister’s album score  –  4 / 5

